Wetherby League: Kirk Deighton turn over Barwick to go top

NAWN 1405032AM2 Kirk Deighton CC V Walton CC. Kirk Deighton's Robbie Nichols.  (1405032AM2)
NAWN 1405032AM2 Kirk Deighton CC V Walton CC. Kirk Deighton's Robbie Nichols. (1405032AM2)
Share this article

Kirk Deighton are the new leaders of the Wetherby Cricket League this week, having fended off Barwick in Elmet by 15 runs.

Jonathan Watkins hit 42 to produce the best knock of Deighton’s 126 all out total, James Swales and Dan Fitzpatrick collecting 3-28 and 3-33 respectively.

But Barwick weren’t able to overhaul their opponents in reply, bowled out for 111 with Aidan Marshall claiming 3-26 and Gary Bettison topscoring with 33.

Wetherby rose to second after crushing Old Modernians by nine wickets.

Jay Atkinson (30), Stuart Borrill (43no) and Jake McVicar (31) supplied the best efforts for Mods to post 155 all out, against the bowling of Neil Thomas (3-26), Stephen Hoather (3-40) and Ian Twitchen (3-43).

Wetherby eased home at 158 for the loss of just one wicket, Andrew Twitchen’s unbeaten 84 paving the way for success, with Richard Grogan (35no) providing a useful contribution.

Great Preston thundered to a 41-run victory over Walton, racking up 239-3 via Ian Newton (49), Lee Russell (48), James Marston (50) and James Bickerdike (64no).

Amraze Mahmood led Walton’s reply with 67 and Qulzam Mahmood added 55, but Walton were some way short as they closed 198-6.

Old Leos delivered a crushing defeat upon Sicklinghall, amassing 201-3 after a towering ton from Andy Guest (100), plus 61 from opener Chris Butt.

Steve Wood bagged 3-49 but Sicklinghall’s reply never got going, as they were bowled out for 69 at the hands of Chris Lawry (4-10) and James Sykes (4-22).

Shadwell were winners over St Chad’s Broomfield, reaching 103-10 batting first, of which Connor Carson hit 40.

Sultan Mehmood collected 4-29 and Atiq Khan 5-35, but it couldn’t save Chad’s from defeat at 98-10.

Scarcroft suffered a two-wicket defeat to Bilton in Ainsty.

Richard George Stephens (49) and Damian Aston (40) were the lynchpins of Scarcroft’s 182 all out, while Thomas Reece picked up 3-35.

But Scarcroft’s bowlers failed to fire in reply, Aston gaining the best return of 3-27, as Bilton overhauled them at 184-8. Philip Atkinson achieved 43 and Philip James Schofield 56.

Over in Division Two, Kirk Hammerton lead the way after a 60-run crushing of Whixley.

Tom Main (52) and Rob Cockerill (63) laid the foundations fo a total of 233-9, while Pat Greenwood bagged 4-27.

Whixley reached 173-9 in reply, Jonathan Richardson (86no) topscoring with Pat Greewood adding 33.

East Keswick were too strong for Thorner Mexborough, achieving 195-6 with the bat.

Opener Basharat Zaman (38) kicked things off, before Kashef Rehman added an unbeaten 79 and Bilal Shahid 30 against the bowling of Amjum Bilal Sabir (4-29).

Thorner made 144 before they were dismissed, Shahid earning 3-29 and Imran Aziz 3-19.

Hillam and Monk Fryston beat Scholes by five wickets, Scholes making 183 before they were dispatched.

Danusha Ranasinghe topscored with 78 while Dan Johnson was the pick of the bowlers with 4-16, and Sammy Wainwright with 4-37.

Matthew McCrystal (30) and Martin Pugh (61no) carried Hillam to victory at 184-5.

South Milford produced a tremendous performance to beat Ledsham.

Stuart Morley (100) and Rob Peregrine (100no) fired them to 239-4, before Peregrine swooped to take 7-56 which helped skittle Ledsham for 166 in reply.

Johnny Smales topscored for Ledsham with 93, while Andy Paul Baron added 48.

Church Fenton endured a 76-run defeat at the hands of Garforth Parish Church, who posted 182-9 batting first.

James Stockton smashed the league’s highest individual knock of the week with 115, against the bowling of Rob Love (4-47).

Stephen Bedford then scalped 5-36 to dismiss Fenton for 106 in reply.

Saxton comfortably beat Crossgates by seven wickets, Gates accrueing 120 all out of which Matthew Hatherley made 95.

Dan Hewer (3-23) and Harry Fletcher (3-46) were the pick of the bowlers.

In reply, Liam Bishop (75no) paved the way for a Saxton win at 121-3.

Division Three: Headingley Bramhope 228-8 Kirk Deighton A 99-10; St Chad’s A 233-8 Amaranth 129-10;Scarcroft A 104-10 Rufforth 105-6;Sherburn Eversley 97-2 Thorner A 95-9; Great Preston A 136-6 Bilton in Ainsty A 134-8; Long Marston 177-10 Green Hammerton 199-9

Division Four: Wetherby A 86-10 Garforth PC A 216-3;South Milford A 156-8 Old Mods A 160-4; Saxton A 56-9 Headingley Bramhope A 206-9; Old Leos A 88-10 St Chad’s B 94-1; Meanwood 216-9 Long Marston A 162-10; Barwick in Elmet A 84-1 Shadwell A 83-10

Division Five: Whixley A 62-6 Crompark 246-5; Headingley Bramhope B 226-8 Sherburn Eversley A 225-9; Hillam and Monk Fryston A 185-5 Wighill Park 190-8; East Keswick A 143-10 Gledhow 64-10; Church Fenton A 119-10 Kippax Welfare 120-0

Division Six: Amaranth A 67-7 Crossgates A 66-7; Green Hammerton A 129-10 Scholes A 178-7; Rufforth A 101-9 Kirk Hammerton A 202-5