Nidderdale League: West Tanfield clinch Showground thriller to seal promotion

West Tanfield's Sam Abel (1508255AM15)
West Tanfield's Sam Abel (1508255AM15)

West Tanfield sealed promotion and the Division Two championship in a dramatic and rain-affected final day of the Nidderdale League season.

Tanfield closed out a six-wicket victory over fellow promotion hopefuls Pateley Bridge with just one ball to spare to deny their hosts and jump to the top of the table.

In a match reduced to 34 overs, Pateley were put into bat by the visitors but made a strong total of 196/5, with captain Thomas Simpson (62) and Colin Chadwick (52no) both reaching half centuries.

Tanfield opener Harry Glatman played a patient innings of 60 to lay the foundations for the chase. But the away side required some final fireworks from Adam Hodgkinson, 57 not out from 41 balls, and Angus Shaw (13no) to secure promotion, striking the winning runs off 33.5 overs.

The victory was made even sweeter for Tanfield as leaders Knaresborough Forest slipped up at home to Studley Royal 2nds.

With Aussie Aaron Brunner topscoring on 36, Forrest could only muster 128-9 in their 27 overs and Royal reached it with more than two overs spare thanks to Nick Stewart’s unbeaten 65, which included six maximums.

Birstwith had given themselves a late chance of promotion after a disciplinary case gave them a victory from an earlier tie. However, their hopes went down the drain as Saturday’s contest at Scotton was called off.

Ripley’s visit to Dacre Banks was the only other match played in Division Two, with the hosts winning by five wickets.

Nat Cutts fell three runs short of a first century of the season as Ripley totalled 215/9 in the initial 40 overs, with Chris Eckford collecting four wickets.

In reply, Aussie Mitchell Hearn took his seasonal run tally to 876 with a century to win the game for Dacre.

Little more than mid-table placings were up for grabs on the final day in Division One, where only three matches were completed.

Second-placed Ouseburn made sure the final table looked close as they pulled to within five points of champions Pannal with a 76-run win over Bishop Thornton.

In a match restricted to 22 overs a side, Ouseburn clocked up 161/7 before bowling Thornton out for 85.

Spofforth gave relegated Newby Hall a send off to Division Two with an eight-wicket thrashing.

Tom Lawson and James Roberts both took three wickets as Hall were all out for just 97, with Dave Henstock smashing 41 from 19 balls at number nine.

Spoff’ were in mean business in the chase, with Joe Horne (34), Pat Gannon (32) and Dillon McCloskey (20no) reaching the score in 15.5 overs.

Alne ensured a top half finish with a four-wicket win over Killinghall. Zac Wilson’s unbeaten 70 took Alne to 218/6 from 30 overs, with Lou Vincent adding 58 from 35 balls.

Killinghall were undone by Tom Wilson’s five-wicket haul with Tom Whitaker (49) topscoring in their 146.

Sharow failed to beat the drop in Division Three, allowing Pannal 2nds a reprieve, as both sides lost on the final day of the season.

Sharow needed to beat fifth-placed Bolton Abbey but failed to defend 127/8 on home turf, losing by five wickets.

Middleham will join Wath and Melmerby in replacing Sharow and fellow doomed Galphay and Winksley after watching the rain wash out their fixture at home to Ouseburn.

South Kilvington had needed to beat Killinghall 2nds, but the match fell to the weather allowing ‘Hall to stay up ahead of Kirkby Malzeard.

The grudge match for the Division Five championship between Thornton Watlass and Boroughbridge and Staveley was another tie that never got the go ahead, leaving Watlass to take the title.

At the bottom, Burton Leonard were relegated on net run rate after Burton Leonard 2nds beat Studley Royal 3rds to stay up. Robbie Barr (106) and Mike Crawshaw (70) were Leonard’s heroes as they beat Studley Royal 3rds by 54 runs.

Darley 2nds collected the final promotion spot in Division Seven after taking a three-wicket win in their showdown against Marton-cum-Grafton.

Meanwhile, Division Eight’s enticing promotion race went in favour of Beckwithshaw 3rds and Knaresborough Forest 3rds, leaving Birstwith facing another year in the eighth tier.

‘Shaw’s showdown with Birstwith was a wash out, and Forest were gifted promotion as Bedale 2nds conceded.


Division One: Ouseburn 161/7 (22.0 overs) bt Bishop Thornton 85/9 (20.0 overs); Spofforth 98/2 (15.5 overs) bt Newby Hall 97/10 (19.4 overs); Alne 218/6 (30.0 overs) bt Killinghall 146/10 (24.3 overs); Darley 33/3 (4.2 overs) abandoned with Burton Leonard 0/0 (0.0 overs)

Division Two: Dacre Banks 219/5 (40.0 overs) bt Ripley 215/9 (40.0 overs); West Tanfield 199/4 (33.5 overs) bt Pateley Bridge 196/5 (34.0 overs); Studley Royal 2 130/5 (24.2 overs) bt Knaresborough Forest 128/8 (27.0 overs);.

Division Three: Bolton Abbey 129/5 (31.5 overs) bt Sharow 127/8 (35.0 overs); Markington 136/2 (23.4 overs) bt Pannal 2 133/10 (29.1 overs); Raskelf 123/2 (27.1 overs) bt Bishop Monkton 117/10 (24.3 overs); Burnt Yates 215/9 (40.0 overs) bt Rainton 192/9 (35.2 overs)

Division Four: Kirkby Malzeard 143/9 (40.0 overs) bt Alne 2 140/9 (40.0 overs); Helperby 2 138/9 (25.0 overs) bt Birstwith 2 76/9 (25.0 overs)

Division Five: Burton Leonard 2 215/4 (28.0 overs) bt Studley Royal 3 161/8 (28.0 overs); Glasshouses 142/6 (25.5 overs) bt North Stainley 140/10 (26.2 overs).

Division Six: All games abandoned due to weather

Division Seven: Darley 2 140/7 (32.5 overs) bt Marton-cum-Grafton 139/10 (350.0 overs); Studley Royal 4 100/10 (34.5 overs) bt Burnt Yates 2 76/10 (28.5 overs; Bolton Abbey 2 146/5 (31.0 overs) bt Thirsk 2 144/3 (34.0 overs)

Division Eight: Rainton 2 95/4 (28.3 overs) bt Ouseburn 3 93/9 (34.3 overs); Arthington 2 179/4 (35.0 overs) bt Helperby 3 119/2 (35.0 overs); Bedale 2 0/0 (0.0 overs) bye with Knaresborough Forest 3 0/0 (0.0 overs)

Division Nine: Studley Royal 5 78/6 (22.1 overs) bt Whixley 2 77/8 (25.0 overs)