Nidderdale League: Birstwith rack up triple Nelson as captains step up on opening day

Hampsthwaite's Richard Barrett.
Hampsthwaite's Richard Barrett.

Promoted Birstwith topped the batting charts with a huge total in beating fellow risers Pateley Bridge on the belated opening day of the Nidderdale League.

Captain Jon Millward set the example with 118 from the top of the order before Dan Riley powered 75 as Birstwith made 333/5 from their 45 overs.

Pateley were never on track as George Hirst snared a five-wicket haul to bowl them out for 176.

West Tanfield showed the strength of the promoted teams with a six-wicket win at Bishop Thornton, as Julian Hulbert, Sam Hodgson and Angus Shaw all claimed three wickets.

Josh Davies (47) top-scored in the Bishops’ 132 before Hulbert steadied a nervous Tanfield chase with a match-clinching 36 not out.

Helperby gave Knaresborough Forest a reminder of what to expect in the top tier in an eight-wicket win, with Matt Cavanagh and Joe Corner taking four wickets apiece.

Division One results

Division One results

Phil Arrand (40) top-scored in Forest’s modest 138 all out before Mark Spilman (60no) and captain Cavanagh (30no) led Helperby home.

James Townsend was another captain leading by example as his 63 provided the basis for Burton Leonard to beat Alne by 157 runs.

Matt Rangeley (56) also raised his bat in the innings as Leonard smashed their way to 263/8 before Australian paceman Nicky Smith took four wickets to bowl Alne out for 106.

The bowlers were on top in a low-scoring fixture between Spofforth and Hampsthwaite, which the former won by 18 runs.

Division Two results

Division Two results

Max Beeley was unlucky to be on the losing side after snaffling a five-wicket haul to bowl Spoff’ out for 105. Graham Squires bowled the hosts to victory with Hamps all out for 87.

Ouseburn got off to a winning start in their expected title challenge with a 70-run success at Darley.

The 2015 runners-up posted 237/8 before restricting Darley to 167/9.

In Division Two, a 195-run partnership between Micah Campbell (108) and captain Lee Platts (101) dug Blubberhouses out of trouble in a 98-run win over Harrogate Strays.

Blubbs recovered from 46-3 to post 310/8, a target too hot for Harrogate. Campbell (3-34) and Platts (4-57) added wickets to their runs as Harrogate made 212, with Aussie Jordan Marshall top-scoring on 80.

Stalwart Damon Ive started the season with a century that took Goldsborough past Studley Royal 2nds by 34 runs.

Ive made an unbeaten 123 in Goldsborough’s 248/4, with Ben Mackrill adding 51. Oli Simencacz made 60 in Royal’s unsuccessful chase of 214/7.

Wicketkeeper Andy Smith carried his bat for an unbeaten 82 as Masham downed Newby Hall by 94 runs.

Ben Fielding proved to be Masham’s hero with the ball with figures of 6-33 to remove Newby for 121 in reply to 215/5.

Richard Ellerkey’s five wickets secured Scotton a memorable glory as Raskelf collapsed from the brink of victory.

With a low target of 140 to chase, Raskelf lost their last five wickets for ten runs to finish up eight short on 132 all out.

Markington produced the performance of the day with a ruthless win over Thornton-le-Moor. Wickets were shared around by Graham Bassitt (3-18), Peter Johnson (3-8) and Aidan Carswell (2-24) as Thornton-le-Moor were rooted for just 83. Bassitt then smashed a half-century as Markington reached the total without losing a wicket.

In the division’s other game, Ripley chased down Dacre Banks’ reasonable total of 183/9 with eight wickets in hand.

In Division Three, Steve Light’s century was the focal point for Burnt Yates in seeing off Pannal 2nds by 32 runs.

Wath and Melmerby required only 26.2 overs to reach Bolton Abbey’s modest total of 147/9 as Bobby Hilton made 55. Rainton were also easy winners after bowling Lofthouse and Middlesmoor out for only 108, reaching the total with seven wickets in hand.

Alex Worrall was the hero for Bishop Monkton with a late half-century, following 82 from Charlie Hutchinson in beating Birstwith by two wickets.

There were also good wins for Whixley, and Middleham.

Nidderdale League Centuries

Gary Muff (Bishop Thornton 2s) 150

Richard Dale (Helperby 2s) 129

Thomas Mawer (Spennithorne and Harmby) 124*

Damon Ive (Goldsborough) 123*

Jonathan Millward (Birstwith) 118

James Thompson (South Kilvington) 118

Chris Saul (Goldsborough 2s) 109

Colin Smith (Studley Royal 4s) 109

Micah Campbell (Blubberhouses) 108

Steven Light (Burnt Yates) 105

Greg Harrison (Bishop Thornton 2s) 104no

Peter Hambling (Helperby 3rds) 102no

Lee Platts (Blubberhouses) 101

Waqas Khan (Glasshouses) 101

Best Bowling

Lee Davison (Spennithorne and Harmby) 7-11

Guy Smith (Thornton Watlass) 7-21

Sam Tiffany (Beckwithshaw 3rds) 6-21

Ben Fielding (Masham) 6-33

Chris Beeley (Hampsthwaite 2nds) 5-10

Richard Ellerker (Scotton) 5-16

Max Beeley (Hampsthwaite) 5-32

Andrew Heard (Birstwith 2nds) 5-40

George Hirst (Birstwith) 5-43