Darley defeat Killinghall to boost hopes of top flight survival

NARG 1308042AM13 Atkinson Squire Cup Final. Spofforth v Ouseburn (1308042AM13)
NARG 1308042AM13 Atkinson Squire Cup Final. Spofforth v Ouseburn (1308042AM13)
Share this article

Relegation-threatened Darley gave their survival hopes a major shot in the arm with a two-wicket win over Killinghall.

Simon Williams starred with the bat to reach 84, and with Scott Copley adding 41 and Matt Williams 34, Killinghall were in the driving seat at 216-6.

NARG 1308042AM14 Atkinson Squire Cup Final.  A close call for Ouseburn's Tom Parker. Picture : Adrian Murray. 1308042AM14)

NARG 1308042AM14 Atkinson Squire Cup Final. A close call for Ouseburn's Tom Parker. Picture : Adrian Murray. 1308042AM14)

However, U-17s player Joe Furniss had captured 4-54 to keep the target in Darley’s range.

Matt Brooks then crafted a superb knock of 82 with Furniss contributing 58, and Darley pulled cleared at 217-8 to earn a valuable five points.

Ouseburn were beaten by Hampsthwaite, but stay top by virtue of Spofforth, Blubberhouses and Helperby all losing.

Pete Townsend (44) and Ben Jones (35) took Ouseburn to 207 batting first, but Andy Taylor (53) and Paul Taylor (40no) carried Hamp’ to victory at 209-7 in reply.

NARG 1308042AM2 Atkinson Squire Cup Final. Spofforth's Tom Clark (1308042AM2)

NARG 1308042AM2 Atkinson Squire Cup Final. Spofforth's Tom Clark (1308042AM2)

Alne inflicted a five-wicket reverse upon Blubberhouses, who reached 184 batting first with Stephen Wilkinson (79) topscoring.

Tony Raper took 3-44 and Eddie Myers 3-34.

Louis Cox (47) and Rob Proudley (67) knocked off the total at 185-5 in reply, despite the efforts of Dawood Waqas (3-30).

Spofforth found themselves beaten by nine wickets away at Dacre Banks.

Overseas Will Long (61) laid the foundations of Spofforth’s 161 total, as they battled chief destroyers Sam Gardham (3-40) and Steve Lawrence (4-48).

Lawrence hit 67 not out and Asif Ayoub 81 not out as Dacre Banks eased home at 165-1.

Goldsborough were too strong for Helperby, Jack Joy (48) and Ben Mackrill (49) leading them to 180-4 batting first.

Mark Spilman hit back with 70 but Karthik Mani (4-39) and Mackrill (3-39) had Helperby ousted for 136.

Bishop Thornton made it a miserable day for Masham, rackign up 248-8 courtesy of steady efforts from Steve Brennan (58), Josh Chandler (42) and Will Wray (62).

Scott Williams bagged 5-59 but Masham were a long way off in reply, all out for 70. Adam Smith (38) and L Tomlin (45) were the pick of the batsmen while Chandler plundered a destructive 5-19.

Meanwhile in Division Two, Pannal are imperiously marching towards promotion as champions, their latest victims being West Tanfield.

But after they reached 210-6 after a towering 110 from Andy Johnson and 57 from Graham Fish, Pannal’s bowlers had to battle to keep Tanfield out.

Boddie Arthur (30), Sam Abel (72) and Josh Tindell (42no) carried Tanfield to 200-7 in reply, Carl Wilson (4-43) and Fish (3-51) just managing to hold them back.

Bolton Abbey lost out to Galphay and Winksley, who posted 195-7 through Andy Mason (64) and Mark Pitt (40no), despite the best efforts of Ben Parkinson (4-53).

Abbey stuttered in reply though, all out for 77.

Newby Hall edged their game with Pateley Bridge by 11 runs, racking up 185 all out thanks to good work by Dave Henstock (41) and Dave Wallis (48) while Tom Simpson captured 6-42.

Michael Eglin (33) adn Colin Chadwick (59) led Pateley’s reply but Henstock (5-40) made sure they were short at 174-9.

Ripley defeated Knaresborough Forest by one wicket, Oli Cullingworth (56) and Nick Jones (55) the mainstays of Forest’s 148-7 total.

Ian Robinson (31) and Rob Best (61) steered Ripley over the line at 152-9 in reply.

Burton Leonard marched on with a win over Birstwith, amassing 211 with J Beets (67) topscoring and A Heard taking 4-52.

In reply, Birstwith were bowled out for 179, T Croston hitting 53 and J Webb collecting 4-56.

Division Three: Markington 234-5, Raskelf 234-9; Burnt Yates 147-9, Scotton 149-5; Hampsthwaite 316-4 Ouesburn 107; Harrogate 184-9, Pannal 165; Killinghall 191-5 Rainton 183-6; Masham 150, Kirkby Malzeard 154-8.

Division Four: Bishop Monkton 188-6, Ripon 192-5; Thornton Le Moor 175-9, Alne 118; Burton Leonard 119-9, Birstwith 123-5; Middleham 145 v Staveley 147-6; Newby Hall 87-10 Lofthouse88-0; Pannal Ash 90 Studley Royal 93-5.

Division Five: Blubberhouses 204, Thornton Watlass 188; Goldsborough 174-9, Ripley 178-3; *Spofforth 109-9 Wath and Melmerby 92 4; North Stainley 231-5, Harrogate 232-1; Pannal Ash 90 (Steve Jackson 4-28) Studley Royal 3 93-5(Richard Langley 31); Sharow 92 ,(C Poole 5-10 D Norman 4-22) Crakehall 95-3; South Kilvington 350-4, Pateley Bridge II 156.

Division Six: Bishop Thornton II 144, Spennithorne & Harmby 146-1; Glasshouses 195-3, Little Ribston 191; *Knaresborough Forest 159-8 Helperby 161-4; Sessay 149-8, Pannal 91; Bolton Abbey 168, Darley 169-6; Raskelf 143-7, Boroughbridge 142-7.

Division Seven: Arthington 218-8, Thirsk 222-3; Birstwith win as Ouseburn conceded; Studley Royal 237-3, Rainton 136; Dacre Banks 69, Newton Le Willows 72-1; Middleham 250-8 (J Sutcliffe 3-37) Marton Cum Grafton 149 (A Langhorne 7-49); Pannal 152-8, Scotton 155-8.

Division Eight: Burton Leonard 88 , Helperby 92-1; *Little Ribston 162, Killinghall 166; Hampsthwaite 76ao, Staveley 77-0; North Stainley 183-5 West Tanfield 179-9; Ripley 188-8, Bedale 100; Ripley 188-8, Bedale 100-10.

Division Nine: Arthington 269-7,Thirsk 128-8; Ripon 75, Studley 76 -2; Ripon 74, Studley 5s 75; Arthington 269-6, *Thirsk 128-8; Kirkby Malzeard 117, *Ripley 122-7.