EIGHT pupils in primary schools in and around Thirsk have received recognition in this year's Rotary Endeavour Awards.

The awards are presented each year to pupils at each nominated school in the scheme, which was started in 1987 by the Youth Activities Committee of The Rotary Club of Thirsk.The recipient is chosen each year by the Headteacher and the teaching staff as being the pupil who has demonstrated 'outstanding achievement' throughout the year.

This is not necessarily academically, but the pupil who is judged to have made a consistently good recognisable effort which has significantly benefited the school in some special way.

The winners this year were: Carlton Miniott Community Primary School, Hayley Hudson; Dishforth CE Primary School, Jake Brokenbrow; Sessay CE Primary School, Rebecca Marshall; South Kilvington CE Primary School, Cassia King; Sowerby Community Primary School, Charlotte Dowson; Thirsk All Saints RC Primary School, Helena Bell; Thirsk Community Primary School, Gabrielle Cliffe; Topcliffe CE Primary School, Jack Sherwood.

A large inscribed shield – engraved with the name of this year’s winner – was retained by each school and carries the details of all previous school winners.

The winners themselves each received their own small personalised engraved shield to keep forever, together with a book token to the value of 20.

Rotarians Alan Nuttall, who is Chairman of Thirsk Rotary’s Youth Activities committee, Chris Wright, Tony Jordan and Club President Julian Capell between them attended each of the eight schools to make the presentation and to enjoy the celebrations.

Mr Jordan said: “Involvement with our local primary schools plays an important part of Rotary Youth Activity in Thirsk and each year we as a club are honoured to be invited into each of the participating schools to present The Rotary Endeavour Awards.

“It was a very gratifying and rewarding experience to be involved with the schools and to be a part of their leavers assembly, and to have the opportunity to explain to the youngsters just what Rotary is all about in their community, and how funding from Thirsk Festival over the years has been invested in education and local community projects.”

The Endeavour awards scheme initially involved four schools - Thirsk High School, Thirsk Community Primary School, Sowerby Community Primary School and Thirsk All Saints RC Primary School.

In 2000, a further three primary schools became involved - South Kilvington CE Primary School, Carlton Miniott Community Primary School and Sessay CE Primary School.

This year, a further two primary schools were invited to participate - Dishforth CE Primary School and Topcliffe CE Primary School.

The presentation to the High School is to a sixth form leaver and this takes place each year in December.