Hard work rewarded at awards ceremony

ACCOLADES flowed thick and fast at Northallerton College's glittering awards ceremony.

Hundreds of people packed the Forum in Northallerton for the celebration of achievement awards at which the cream of the college’s youth were rewarded for their efforts.

Principal Mick Hill said: “We wanted our awards ceremony to be slightly different; we wanted it to focus sharply on the students.”

The audience was also treated to entertainment by the college orchestra, a solo performance by student Amy Almond and a stomping performance by college dancers and pupils from The Dales School.

Special guest, Paul Murphy, executive director of the business and education partnership NYBEP, said links with the college had blossomed and he now had a permanent member of staff based there.

He urged students to seize the moment and grab all opportunities. “Employers are looking for people who are a little bit different,” he said.

“You have to put energy in to get things going and you have to get to know your inner person and become comfortable with it.”


Best Key Stage 3 SATs scores: Ailish Breen, Sarah Johnson, Robert Ramsden, Laura Brookes, Louise Kaye, Neil Rodley, Rachel Cornfoot, Callum Kitson-Parker, Daniel Rutland, Robert Milner, Sally Dennis, Rebecca Hills, Elizabeth Parrott, Laura Turner and Simon Howard.

County Colours for Music: Louise Finch, Richard Miles, Sam Sankey, Anna Gillespie, Kimberley Parker, Sarah Stephens and Alison James.

Outstanding attitude and achievement during Year 10: Rachael Blake, Richard Hounsome, Amy Nicholson, Samuel Toothill, Sophie Bramley, Zoe Hutchinson, Craig Roberts, Jamie Williams, Sara-Jane Craddock, Helen Jamieson, Becky Sadler, Sally Willis, Patrick Eames, Sarah Nell and Annabel Taylor.

Dales School - Outstanding Contribution to Northallerton College: Jamie Chiu, Annie Pybus, Matthew Culshaw, Adam Smith and Stephen Milne.

Outstanding achievement at AS level: Sara Boomsma, Rebecca Hall, Benjamin Plackett, Laura Colling, Deane Jacobs, Rebecca Robinson, Louise Finch, Lucy Judd, Rachel Turner, Leigh Garside and Jennifer Mungham.

Outstanding contribution to the Millennium Volunteers Scheme: Frances Allan, Rachel Smith and Laura Hoyland.

Contribution to the Student Council: Louise Finch, Leigh Garside and Charlotte Rolf.

Outstanding achievement throughout Key Stage 4: Louise Best, Lydia Gunn-Newlove, Sam Sankey, Sarah Breckon, Thomas Judd, Emily Shaw, Jonathan Busby, Shaun Lane, Lisa Simpson, Lucy Collier, Helen Mason, James Tasane, Ruth Cook, Hannah Matthews, Bethany Thurlbeck, Jennifer Crewdson, Ruth Mattison, Genevieve Trenholm, Jack Gill, Joshua Miers, Emma Wood, Sophie Green, Kirsty Nattrass and Laura Wooff.

Outstanding achievement at A2 level: Amy Allen, Lee Coates, Sarah Ball, Kimberley Parker, Adam Clifton and Antony Robinson.

Outstanding achievement at AVCE: Business: Alistair White. ICT: Peter Hemsley. Health & Social Care: Jodie Lingard and Lisa Stubbs. Performing Arts: Shaun Cornfoot and Amy Manancourt.

Special Awards: Clothes Show ‘design a T-shirt’ finalist: Hannah Matthews. Ben Hyde Sports Award: Rebecca Carson, Jessica Roberts, Richard Cuthbert, Douglas Roberts. Best Vocational Learners: Matthew Kettlewell and Stacey Robinson. Highest achiever at A2 level: Raveen Jayasuriya. Joint highest achiever at AS level: Claire Chapman and Thomas Hills. Highest achiever for AVCE: Lauren Pollock. Millennium Volunteers Service Award: Natasha Hambly. Rotary Club Award (highest achiever at GCSE): Sarah Breckon. English as a Foreign Language: Abhimanyu Chugh, Katarzyna Nazarewicz and Murat Ozkanli. Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Award: Amy Almond. John Dennis Award: Louise Best and Andrew Warner. Cuthbert Cross: Raveen Jayasuriya and Natalie Williams.