Excellence rewarded at RAF Leeming event

Acting Corporal Chris Edge received the award for Contribution to Charity, presented by AVM(Rtd) Phil Roser.
Acting Corporal Chris Edge received the award for Contribution to Charity, presented by AVM(Rtd) Phil Roser.

RAF Leeming celebrated the achievements of its personnel during its first annual awards event.

The evening recognised the outstanding contributions of personnel in the workplace and community throughout the past year.

Seven awards were presented which included; Contribution to Sport, Contribution to Charity, Innovation, Safety and Wing Commander Gowing Airman of the Year and The Station Commander’s Award.

The Wing Commander Bye Sword, awarded annually in memory of Wing Commander David Bye, was also presented.

More than 100 personnel from across the station attended the event, which was organised by Squadron Leader Rachel Sullivan, Officer Commanding, Personnel Management Squadron.

SAC Conner Waters, C4 Flight, was presented with the Innovation Award for his work to improve IT resources at RAF Leeming.

Acting Corporal Chris Edge, Logistics Squadron, was recognised for his outstanding contribution to charity, in particular, for his lead role in supporting the ‘Walking with Jeff’ event in aid of Prostate Cancer.

He said: “It’s an honour that the team’s hard work has been recognised at such a prestigious event. The Station Awards Night was a great way to recognise all the amazing work and achievements of Leeming personnel.”

She said: “While there are opportunities for formal recognition of personnel through the honours and awards process, I was delighted to be given the opportunity to organise an event for RAF Leeming personnel, nominated by the base’s peers and colleagues.

“Success and achievement can be measured in so many ways.

“Participation and contribution is as much a measure of success as winning.

“As such, all the nominations for the awards had reflected the different ways in which an individual or team’s dedication had been viewed by those nominating.”

The other winners were:

Wg Cdr Gowing Airman of the Year Award - SAC Liz Mawdsley

Safety Award - Mechanical Transport Section

Contribution to Sport Award - SAC Alex Smith

Wing Commander Bye Sword - Sgt Daren Rosamond

Station Commander’s Award - Sgt Al Waring.