Students awards triumph

Nicholas Hugill and Lucy Watkiss with the coveted John Dennis award at Northallerton College
Nicholas Hugill and Lucy Watkiss with the coveted John Dennis award at Northallerton College
Share this article

HIGH achieving pupils have been recognised for their academic effort and contribution to college life at an end-of-year prize-giving ceremony.

Hundreds of awards were presented to Year 11 GCSE pupils at Northallerton College, at their final group assembly, for their outstanding attendance, good behaviour and consistent effort.

Certificates were handed out to students nominated by their tutors for academic excellence and effort in 27 individual subjects, ranging from maths and science to hair and beauty and motor vehicle studies.

Associate principal Stephen Merifield said: “Our end of year assembly is a real celebration event.

“I am extremely proud to be able to stand here and see that so many students have reached this important milestone in their education.

“Many GCSE pupils across the country never make it to the end of Year 11 and it is a great reflection of the hard work and dedication put in by everyone at Northallerton College that we have so many awards to hand out.”

Pupils themselves chose one member from each of their tutor groups to receive an award for making the best contribution to the life of the group and special awards were given to pupils who were nominated by their tutors in at least three different subjects for their effort and achievement.

Assistant principal and head of Key Stage 4 Lynda Phipps, said: “If we asked our GCSE students to look back over the last two years some would say that it had been easy, others would say it had been extremely hard, but I am proud that they have all stuck with it and each and every one of them has deserved their certificate to acknowledge this.”

Outstanding students Nick Hugill, 16, and Lucy Watkiss, 15, received the highest honours at the event with the coveted John Dennis Award.

The award, first given in 2003, and named after the school’s chair of governors John Dennis, is presented to the Year 11 boy and girl, who by their attitude, commitment and honourable conduct have contributed most to the character and reputation of the college.

Presenting the trophies Mr Dennis said: “I would like to congratulate Nick and Lucy and all of the students here today.

“It is always a pleasure for me to come here and see the achievements of so many young people.

“Northallerton College offers great opportunities, not only in helping its students’ progress academically, but also helping them to become good citizens.”

Award winner Nick, of Northallerton, who is set to continue his A level studies at Northallerton College before studying medicine at university, said: “I was really pleased to win the award.

“I try to put in a lot of work helping to organise events and volunteering in the college and it’s great to be acknowledged for that.”

Lucy, of Romanby, added: “This is the one award that I was hoping to win.

“It’s such prestigious recognition within the college and means that people really appreciate all the work I put in.”

The full list of award winners was as follows:

Subject awards:

Applied art: Adam Donlon and Sally Hughlock

Art: Ruth Kilsby and Beth Keen

Business studies: Adam Wilson and Olivia Hudson-Stockdale

Dance: Luke Pearson and Savannah Wallace

Drama: Emily Miller and Keighley Marston

Engineering: Kodie Pattison and James Coatsworth

English: Lucy Watkiss and Ryan Bull

English Literature: Rebecca Worgan and Ruth Chapman

Food Tech: Emily Ramsden and Georgie Brayson

French: Quentin Cook and Abigail Fletcher

Geography: Oliver Pepper and Jessica Hugill

German: Grace Fox and Liam Weighell

Graphics: Daniel Over and Alex Simpson

Hair & Beauty: Paislie King and Rebecca Duncalf

Health & Social Care: Stacey Alderson and Kimberley Cooper

History: Katrina Richardson and Chloe Boocock

Hospitality and Catering: Jessica Black and Ashley Young

ICT: Lee Jones and Jack Buch

Maths: Arthur Turner and Amelia Allerton

Media: Jasmine Cerrato and Daniel Caisley

Motor Vehicle: Jay Simpson and Jake Harvey

Music: William Henderson and Sarah Tiplady

PE: Sarah lacy and George Easton

RE: Alice Darwin and Daniel Peel

Resistant Materials: Esther Thorniley-Walker and Jack Webster

Science: Nicholas Hugill and Megan Bainbridge

Textiles: Laura Matthews and Laura Foster

Tutor group awards:

Lucy Watkiss, Chelsea Cowton, Rebecca Worgan, Thomas Burridge, Connor Bateman, Joseph Allison, Emily Miller, Adam Donlon, Oliver Pepper and Jordan Kirk

Special awards:

Megan Bainbridge, Jessica Black, Jasmine Cerrato, Ruth Chapman, Quentin Cook, Kimberley Cooper, Adam Donlon, Grace Fox, Sally Hughlock, Jessica Hugill, Beth Keen, Ruth Kilsby, Sarah Lacy, Emily Miller, Emily Ramsden, Arthur Turner and Lucy Watkiss

John Dennis award: Nicholas Hugill and Lucy Watkiss.