Exam results at Harrogate school marked with special evening

Award-winning Rossett students with, front, Emily Cummins (s).
Award-winning Rossett students with, front, Emily Cummins (s).

Rossett School marked its 2014 exam results at a

presentation evening.

Students from last year’s Year 11, who received their GCSE results in August, were invited to celebrate with parents, staff and governors.

The school reports that 85 per cent of students achieved at least five A*-C grades, and 70 per cent achieved five A*-C GCSEs including English and maths – the government’s golden standard.

Overall, 96 per cent of students gained at least five GCSEs at A*-G.

Headteacher Helen Woodcock said: “These students gained outstanding results, but as well as their academic success they played a very active part in school life.

“We were thrilled to celebrate their successes and are pleased that so many of the year group have chosen to stay with us in the sixth form to complete their A levels.”

Students were presented with their certificates by award-winning inventor Emily Cummins.

Emily designed a sustainable fridge to help improve the quality of life for people living in poverty across southern Africa. Emily’s speech has motivated students to think about the importance of identifying their “talents and passions”; she recommended this as a recipe not only for success, but for a fulfilled life.

While all students were recognised for their efforts and achievements, some were given awards for their 
performance in particular 


The Headteacher’s Special Award for Outstanding Academic Performance, Lydia Valentine; The Pat Hunter Award for consistently demonstrating Rossett School’s core values, Stewart Marshall; The Robert Pullan Award for Outstanding Progress, Ethan Zhao; The John Whittle Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Life of the School, Sam Gibson; The Sue Bell Award for Literature, Daniel McHardy; Year 11 Progress & Achievement Leader’s Award, Byron Akarsu; Art, Jevohna England; Biology, Ellen Dunn; BTEC Construction, Jack Hobson; BTEC Performing Arts, Josh Osborne; Business Studies, Molly Casper; Chemistry, Alex Dallas; Drama, Flo Milner; Economics, Marina Tapley; English, Megan Templeton; Food Technology, 
Megan Fairweather; French, Lydia Valentine; Geography, Jessica Morris; Health & Social Care, Ellie Moody; History, Robert Noble; ICT, Holly Wardman. Languages – Rondo Award for Progress, Billie Towers; Maths, Ellen Dunn; Maths – Statistics, Holly Wardman; Music, Alex Dallas; Music – Gaskell Family Award, Katy Scott; Philosophy & Ethics, Owen Gregory; Physics, Byron Akarsu; Product Design, Naomi Younger; Resistant 
Materials, Kieron Platt; Science:, Jessica Byrne; Spanish, Katie Scott; Sports Person, Jack Firth/Lorna Roberts; Textiles, Rebecca Adams; Vocational Education, Josh Brewster.