Bedale delight at exam results

From left: Gerry Price, chairman of governors at Bedale High School, house captain Tommy Littler, Rishi Sunak MP, house captain Amy Harrison and Sian Rees, associate headteacher.
From left: Gerry Price, chairman of governors at Bedale High School, house captain Tommy Littler, Rishi Sunak MP, house captain Amy Harrison and Sian Rees, associate headteacher.

A year of improvement was celebrated at Bedale High School’s presentation evening.

The school recorded the best GCSE results for any non-selective secondary school in the local area. Ten students achieved more than 100 A and A* grades between them.

It was also among the top 20 most improved schools in the county and recorded major improvements in the attainment of its male students.

Associate headteacher Sian Rees, who addressed the gathering of parents, pupils, staff and governors in the school’s main hall, said the year had started with an Ofsted inspection.

She said: “It was a positive experience and confirmation that the school was improving, that standards were rising and that our students were learning well.

“We just needed time for that to filter through into results.”

Mrs Rees reported on the highlights of the school year which included 13 students achieving county colours in seven different sports.

Guest speaker Rishi Sunak MP praised the hard work of students and staff and the support provided by parents and governors.

He urged them when thinking of their futures to be imaginative about what they might do and not be afraid to pursue their ideas.

He cited the example of Google, Facebook and Apple – companies created by young people under the age of 24 with an idea which had transformed the world.

“It’s one of the most incredible testaments to what happens when young people trust their creativity,” he said.

“Not one of them could have done what they did without a good education, but that education couldn’t take them the whole way.

“To achieve what they did meant having the self-belief to challenge convention and believe in their ideas.”

Addressing the students he concluded: “The ideas in all of your heads are probably the most precious resource this country has.”

Mr Sunak presented the prizes. A full list of the prize winners can be viewed on our website Winners include:

The Michelle Atkinson Shield for contribution to Yr 7: Perry Hewlett.

Contribution by a Yr 8 pupil cup: Rosie Littler.

Contribution by a Yr 9 pupil cup: Joely Newell.

Contribution by a Yr 10 pupil cup: Koen Usher.

Contribution by a Yr 11 pupil cup: Bethany Goodwin.

The Richard Lawson Trophy for lower school mathematics: Charlotte Lapthorne.

Moss Cup for upper school mathematics: Tasmin Nicklas.

The Bedale Art Group for lower school art: Freya Douglas.

The Bedale Art Group for upper school art: Charlotte Heap.

The Ken Dewis upper school cup for design technology: Jake Shaw.

The Lower School cup for design technology: Kathryn Hoare.

The WI Cup for excellent work in lower School food and textile technology: Molly Mills.

The Dalepak Cup for effort in upper school food and textile technology: Jessica Dale.

The John Barley award for catering excellence: Hannah Neale.

The Cup for outstanding work in lower school English: Emmeline Brown.

The Cup for outstanding work in upper school English: Lewis Maclean.

Longstaff award for upper school languages: Hannah Neale.

The Russell Cup for lower school languages: Harriet Ormston.

ICT award for upper school: Victoria Treiber.

ICT award for lower school: Thomas Imeson.

The Dodd Cup for lower school geography: Molly Mills and Harriet Ormston.

The Turner Cup for upper school geography: Philip Smith.

The Gillett Cup for lower school history: Kathryn Hoare.

Cup for upper school history: Robyn Chilton.

The Morton Cup for service to the school: Helen Schofield.

The 50th anniversary reunion trophy (service to the school) in upper school: Lewis Maclean.

The Malcolm Young science award for upper school: Philip Smith.

The Lower school science award: Niamh Ingram.

The Cup for upper school social sciences: Annaleigh Smith.

The Nickery Nook Dramatic Arts award for lower school drama: Charlotte Grundy.

Bedale Dramatic Society Shield for upper school drama: Hannah Sherwood-Smith.

The Upper school cup for a major contribution to the school’s music: Laura Estensen.

The Lower school cup for contribution to the school’s music: Eleanor Donaghy.

The Queen’s Golden Jubilee Shield for courage in adversity: Victoria Treiber.

The Brian Redhead Trophy: Harriet Ormston (reporter of the year).

House Cup winners: Europe.