Annual speech day celebrates school's outstanding success

TADCASTER Grammar School has this year become the most successful Business and Enterprise College in the country.

Speaking at Friday’s Speech and Prize Day, headteacher Geoff Mitchell said he had been “reliably informed” that the school, now in its third year of specialist status, had this year become the most successful of its kind in the country. This was promoted by a recent visit from the Financial Secretary to the Treasury and Minister of State for Skills, John Healey.

Mr Mitchell also highlighted the success pupils had enjoyed in exams, with seven students receiving places in the national top five. He revealed that in one subject, Religious Education, three of the top answers in the national top five were written by Tadcaster Grammar School students.

He finished by warning it would be wrong to “stand still or be complacent” about the school’s success: “Students at Tadcaster Grammar School deserve the right to enjoy their education, leave with success and look back on their school days with fond memories. Our aim is to make a difference to the lives of young people,” he said.

The guest speaker was former Great Britain and South Africa Olympic Coach Wilf Paish MBE.

The school’s Concert Band entertained guests with music from the show Chicago and the theme from Mission Impossible. The vote of thanks was given by Jamie Cusworth.


Year 10 – introduced by Geoff Wilson

For Achievement, Effort and Improvement in Two Subjects: Lucy Allison, Harry Askham, Adam Bishop, Andrew Buchan, Keylie Carlile, Hollie Cowgill, Oliver Cropper, Claire Dearlove, Jamie Deighton, Sean Dodsworth, Martin Durrant, Thomas Dwyer, Natasha Edwards, Oliver Finn, Victoria Galley, Nathan Garnham, Robert Gray, Olivia Grigg, Jade Haythorne, Aimee Hirst, Thomas Hollingsworth, Lauren Kilgallon, Amy Kilvington, Calre Midgley, Stuart Monkman, Matthew O’Callaghan, Thomas O’Hearne, Simon Palmer, Victoria Queenan, Christopher Roberts, Louise Robinson, Tom Scott, Jack Scrancher, William Sharpe, Amy Shepherd, Philip Smith, Alexander Soltanahmadi, Samuel Thomson, David Thorpe, Olivia Tinker, Jessica Toby, Jessica Whittal, Luke Wraith.

For Achievement, Effort and Improvement in Three, Four, Five or Six Subjects: Edward Bainbridge, Sophie Best, Alexander Bishop, Victoria Bishop, Naomi Boynton, Samuel Canham, Danielle Crozier, Natalie Dean, Sarah Dixon, Laura Duffy, Daniel Fallon, Matthew Featherstone, Alison Gaythorpe, Kathryn Gilbert, Ben Gilmore, Catherine Hardy, Sophie Haw, Sarah Haynes, James Hornby, Joshua Hrycaiczuk, Shane Huby, Harry Job, Lucy Kavanagh, Daniel King, Louis Kingdom, Misha Kingham, Andrew Mallory, Sarah McGuinness, Clare Morris, Kate O’Brien, Alexander Parrott Mills, Jenna Partington, Emily Pease, Isobel Savege, Thomas Spenceley, Lauren Stanger, Jennifer Stapleton, Alice Thompson, Rebecca Wellock, Simon Wheatley.

For Achievement, Effort and Improvement in Seven Subjects: Anna Chippindale.

Presentation of GCSE Certificates and Prizes – introduced by Iain Wood. Outstanding Improvement: Samantha Allison, Corrine Bain-Mackay, David Brown, Kimberly Marston, James McNab, Rachel Naylor, Charlotte Waddington, Stephen Walker, Laurence Wallace.

Very Good Results: Matthew Astbury, Justin Au, Keri Bastiman, Stephen Bellamy, Amy Bird, Alice Blogg, Charlotte Brady, Christopher Brett, Matthew Broxham, Matthew Burton, Suzy Button, Lucy Cammisss, Julia Clifton, Thomas Cockerill, Sophie Conder, Anna Connell-Smith, Sarah Copper, Charlotte Cumberland, James Dewar, Kathryn Dixon, Kate Dowson, Laura Ducat, Louise Dutton, Robert Farthing, Hannah Fieldhouse, Matthew Foote, Oliver Foster, Nicholas Hardy, Joseph Harford, Jonathan Heseltine, David Hodgkinson, William Howes, Christopher Lawrenson, Rebecca Levitt, Sian Lewis, Sarah Lombard, Helen Madin, Jonathan Masters, Christopher Morgan, Rory O’Hara-Mortimore, Lisa Pacey, Thomas Paling, Michael Peace, Jason Sanderson, Jack Scott, Gregory Scullion, Alison Stafford, Claire Stephenson, Jacob Stickland, Lisa Sykes, Neil Tarbin, James Titley, Christopher West, Joseph White, Rachel Whittaker, Andrew Wright.

Prizes For Outstanding Results in GCSE (at least 9 grades A*-A): Rebecca Anderson, Georgina Batt, Hannah-Louise Batty, Kirsty Bell, Jonathan Brady, Antigone Branchflower, Sarah Carter, Robert Clough, Andrew Cowan, Laura Craggs, Claire Davies, William Fisher, Matthew Frears, Hannah Gordon, Amie Harding, Cassandra Ivel, Holly Job, Eleanor Keeler, Catherine Nowell, Helen Robinson, Hannah Sneddon, Robin Tecwyn, Laura Woolcock.

Year Twelve Subject Prizes – presented by Kate Douglas: Accountancy – Andrew Gilbertson; Art – Abbey Linfoot; Biology – Carmen Cheng; Business Single – Georgia Haystead; Business Double – Emma Gill; Chemistry – Hannah Smith; Computing – David Dolling; DT Graphics – Lynsey Kavanagh; DT Resistant Materials – Ian Lawton; DT Systems – Nick Simpson; Economics – Alexander Cribbs; English Language – Eleanor Woodings; English Literature – Laura Carlton; French – Laura Buchan; Geography – Natalie Harris; German – Rachael George; History – Jamie Cusworth; Law – Andrew Freckleton; Mathematics Statistics – Charles Pearcy; Mathematics Mechanics – Jonathan Carter; Mathematics Further – Christopher Johnson; Physical Education – Joshua McGahan; Physics – Alexander Papushoy; Psychology – Stephanie Mercer; Religious Studies – Rebecca Ashworth; Sociology – Louise Feather; Textiles – Jessica Hollings – Tennant Theatre Studies – Nicola Lampard; Travel & Tourism Single – Louise Walton; Travel & Tourism Double – Charlotte Hutchinson; Travel & Tourism Btec – Kelly Smith.