Russian fan club head: ‘We Mos-cow to see Herriot’

Mary Sheglova of Moscow's James Herriott Fan Club, at the statue of Alf Wight at James Herriot World, Thirsk
Mary Sheglova of Moscow's James Herriott Fan Club, at the statue of Alf Wight at James Herriot World, Thirsk

The head of Moscow’s James Herriot fan club visited the World of James Herriot, Thirsk.

Mary Sheglova is Head of the English Club of Fans of James Herriot, Moscow and has read all of the Herriot books and seen the films and TV series.

Mary presented the attraction’s managing director Ian Ashton with a red rose plant, to be planted in the garden beside the Alf Wight statue at the attraction.

It is a traditional Russian custom to give such a gift in thanks when someone has been helpful.

“Mary said that it was one of her life’s ambitions to visit the area and see the places that Alf Wight based his books on,” he said.

“She hopes to visit again next year.”